Meltdown Days

I have them, and more so this week.

My kids have transitioned into public school from homeschooling. It wasn’t an easy decision, but it had to happen. Their first day of school started last week Thursday.

My daughter is adapting well, but my son is not. He has been having total meltdowns. Showering and bedtime has now become nightmares.

On our way to school today, my son cried and screamed, and made me miss my turn. I had to pull over because I was about to lose it.

I try to start our mornings with tickles and laughter, but when it’s time to get ready, my son starts his tantrums.

I know I’m not the only mom that is going through this, or has gone through this. Being a parent is hard, being a single parent is harder.

Today is going to be my meltdown day after my kids are sleeping and everything is done, I’m going to jump in the shower and cry. I am going to have at it because I NEED it. Life is stressful, and I have learned the hard way that suppressing negative emotions is not healthy, and that crying has its benefits of releasing stress hormones, and “studies also suggest that crying stimulates the production of endorphins, our body’s natural pain killer and “feel-good” hormones (source).”

With this said, I’m going to have my moment, and you should too if you need to cry.

2 thoughts on “Meltdown Days

Leave a comment